Skip to Quick Search

Sub navigation

Skip to content

Document Actions
  • Print this page

EastendHomes residents sparkle at Star in the Community Awards

last modified  29/11/2012 12:00 PM

Inspirational residents in Tower Hamlets have been recognised at a community awards ceremony for their dedication to the people and the areas where they live.

The third annual STAR in the Community Awards took place on Monday, 26 November and the worthy winners were revealed at a celebration in the Marriott Hotel, West India Quay, Canary Wharf which hosted the eleven housing organisations based in the borough. The winners were selected by a panel of independent judges having been nominated by their fellow residents.

Among the winners from EastendHomes residents were Mrs Margaret Hughes (EEH Inspirational Resident); Daisy Buchanan-Cook (Young Person of the Year Award); and, jointly, Mrs Onjona Begum and Mrs Forhana Begum (Environmental Award). In receipt of three awards, EastendHomes residents were the most successful of any landlord, although it's not a competition..

The ceremony was hosted by the Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation, David Orr, and awards were presented by Jim Fitzpatrick MP and Tower Hamlets Lead Member for Housing, Councillor Rabina Khan.

Full list of winners:

Inspirational Resident Awards: Margaret Hughes, Mustapha Rami, Martin King, Raja Berezag, Richard Caley, Colin Field, Larry Herman, Charmaine Green-Burke, Rita Brown and Tommy Herbert

Axis Europe Young Person of the Year Award: Daisy Buchanan-Cook

Contribution to Resident Involvement Award: Abu Taher Choudhury

Bringing People Together Award: Joynal Haque

Environmental Award: Onjona Begum and Forhana Begum

The eleven housing providers who jointly co-ordinated the awards were: EastendHomes; Gateway HA; Newlon Housing Trust; Old Ford HA; One Housing Group; Poplar HARCA; Providence Row HA; Spitalifields HA; Swan Housing Group; Tower Hamlets Community Housing and Tower Hamlets Homes.

Inspirational Resident Award Winner (Margaret Hughes):

Axis Young Person of the Year (Daisy Buchanan-Cook):

Environmental Award (Onjona Begum & Forhana Begum):