Skip to Quick Search

Sub navigation

Skip to content

Document Actions
  • Print this page

Star in the Community Award Ceremony

last modified  13/12/2010 15:52 PM

Six Housing Associations operating in the Borough of Tower Hamlets joined together to reward and acknowledge the community focused contributions made by their residents at an awards ceremony held at the East Wintergarden at Canary Wharf on Wednesday, 10 November 2010.
Award winners and nominees together with prominent members of the community were joined by Jim Fitzpatrick MP and Rushanara Ali MP.  David Orr, Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation, compered the event.
The organisations; Tower Hamlets Community Housing (THCH), Gateway Housing, Spitalfields Housing Association, EastendHomes, Swan Housing Group and Island Homes came together in order to celebrate and reward the positive impact local residents have made to the lives of their neighbours, their neighbourhood and their community through their tireless efforts and voluntary actions.
The STAR awards were a chance for fellow residents to nominate their "local heroes" who were then selected by an independent panel which included Alastair McIntosh of the Housing Quality Network and Belinda Porich of the National Housing Federation.
There were nine awards in total:

Inspirational Resident Award (for each Housing Association)
- Hasna Begum, EastendHomes
- Melvyn Smith, Tower Hamlets Community Housing
- Sue Izzet, Gateway Housing 
- Antony Nelson, Spitalfields
- Ellen Ferris, Swan Housing
- Sammie Samuels, Island Homes

Young Person of the Year Award (overall award)
- Ashley Taplin, Swan Housing Group

Contribution to Resident Involvement Award (overall award)
- Rafia Jalil, Tower Hamlets Community Housing

Community Cohesion Award (overall award)
Joint Winners
- Muna Mohamed, Gateway Housing 
- Cathy Forrester, Spitalfields Housing
Event Organisor, Muge Dindjer, Community Development Coordinator with THCH, Gateway and Spitalfields HA said “The evening highlighted some of the wonderful work put in by many unsung community champions who together, enrich the lives of others through their dedication to make a difference to other people’s lives. These awards are just desserts for their wonderful efforts”.
David Orr said “I was delighted to contribute to this event to honour the many local residents who have contributed, sometimes over decades to make their communities better for all. I am especially pleased that the categories included a recognition of the Young Resident of the Year as young people often get such bad press it is important to remember the very good work many of them do. The winners and the wider group of nominees were a very good example of the diversity, cohesion and community spirit that these housing associations help to foster in a deprived borough like Tower Hamlets”

(L-R): David Orr (National Housing Federation); Shamina Uddin (Island Gardens); Hasna Begum (EastendHomes resident and award winner); Jim Fitzpatrick MP